Showing posts with label etsy shop review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label etsy shop review. Show all posts

Sunday, August 18, 2013

Sunday Spotlight - Valery Tkachenko of Alery

Today's Sunday Spotlight focuses on the jewelry of Valery Tkachenko of Alery. Please take some time to learn about this incredible artist and shop her work!

My name is Valery. I was born and raised in beautiful and ancient city Kiev in Ukraine. Some time ago my husband, our children and I moved to California where we now live in a small city not far from San Francisco. I worked in IT before but now I turn into a jeweler. 

Blue Sky Enamel Earrings

I’ve always been into crafting and arts. Over years I’ve tried different techniques and materials in jewelry making. But enameling technique was a love at first sight. 

Multicolor Enamel Earrings
The process of enameling offers a jeweler a lot of freedom for creativity and experimentation. I love to discover new ways, when result may be unpredictable and surprising. It keeps you at the edge, urges to learn new all the time.

Whimsical Enamel Earrings

In enameling a metal surface is covered with a finely grounded glass powder. The surface is then heated to about 1450F so that the powder melts and fuses together. One can use either kiln of hand torch to heat the powder. It usually takes a few melting iterations for a jewelry piece to be ready. With each iteration a jeweler can change the color of the glass powder, its quantity and transparency. As a result most of the pieces turn out to be one of a kind and completely unique as it’s simply impossible to replicate them.

Statement Cocktail Ring
On the one hand I’m inspired by the diversity and sophistication of nature, where you can find something new and surprising every time. On the other hand man-made objects can be as beautiful. Apart from nature architecture and art serve as great sources of inspiration for me. The simplicity and elegance of minimalism where every shape and every line have a well-defined meaning and purpose prompt me to create simple yet bright and colorful jewelry items.

Copper Earrings
What work I’m most proud of. It’s really hard to answer. Each time when I find a new way of doing something or do some successful experiments I enjoy it a lot, so I have a group of favorite items made in different techniques. Definitely, this big pendant is one of my favorites: 

In my works I try to combine traditional with contemporary in techniques, in designs, in materials. I hope that my jewelry brings some joy to people’s life.

In addition to my shop on Etsy, you can find me here:

For readers of this blog I offer a special coupon code DBLOG10 – it gives you 10% off your purchase. This offer expires October 31, 2013.

Sunday, July 28, 2013

Sunday Spotlight - SEEDesigns

Today's Sunday Spotlight features Sonia of SEE Designs2 and her handmade, vintage inspired jewelry. Learn about the inspiration for her work, then use the coupon code at then end of the post for a special offer!

My name is Sonia and I am shop owner of Etsy shop SEEDesigns2.  I have been a shop on Etsy for 1 year now. I have however been creating and designing since childhood. I am an entrepreneur and enjoy having a flexible schedule for my art. My shop features Handmade vintage inspired Jewelry and Accessories for men & women.  I collect vintage jewelry anywhere from Victorian Era , Hollywood Regency to Flapper Jewelry of the 20's.  Nothing can compare to the Jewelry of times past, It's an art the way it was made, designed and worn. I aim to try to inspire this in my shop.  

Romantic Victorian Bracelet

I have always done craft shows, art shows, but a year ago I decided to give the online shop a go.  I am certainly glad I did, I have had much success I feel and I really enjoy being able to be creative on more than one side with my creations in my shop through the use of the tools available on Etsy. 

Vintage Blue Lucite Beaded Necklace

My shop is very unique because all my designs come from a vintage era, I use old techniques in making my jewelry, I also use vintage beads and findings that you just can't find anymore, whether restored, bought at auction or given to me. I love feeling I am recreating something you think you can only see in pictures of grand mother or old Hollywood magazines.  My shop stands out because of the time and effort that is put into these creations and my customers know they are receiving not just a treasure but a quality hand made product. 

Pink Rose Flower Earrings
I love all my designs but one I am really proud of is my vintage black glass multi strand necklace, I love this necklace because everything about it makes you think of vintage 50's. Every bead was salvaged from broken thrown away jewelry, each bead is still useful and it has made a stunning necklace. This necklace is for sale in my shop.

Vintage Black Glass Pearl Necklace
I do take request for custom orders on items already featured in my shop for example if one of my customers would like to change a flower color, order more than one, perhaps make a matching bracelet to go with that necklace. And if unsure of what you would like I do encourage my customers to shoot me a note with any questions. I do ask for 2 weeks to make the desired item, this does not include the shipping time. 

Modern Ribbon Necklace
For all who read this wonderful blog I would like to offer a 10% savings on all orders. You can get this by using coupon code BLOG10. This offer will expire August 31, 2013.

Sunday, July 21, 2013

Sunday Spotlight - Tenae Stewart of Strawberry Moon Books

Today's Sunday Spotlight is focused on Tenae Stewart of Strawberry Moon Books - gotta love that name!

My name is Tenae Stewart and I’m a 20-year-old art history student in Northern California. I own Strawberry Moon Books & Boutique, an Etsy shop where I sell vintage books and handmade items including watercolor bookmarks and decoupage pieces made from recycled book pages. I’m inspired by the beauty of books and the smell of old pages, especially in our modern e-reader world.

Watercolor Bookmark

My store is quite new, having only opened in April 2013, but it has always been my dream to own a book and gift shop. When I was 12, my mom bought the local flower shop and through the years. I've become more and more involved in the gift portion of our store, particularly working with small American-made companies like those found on Etsy. Someday I hope to expand Strawberry Moon into a brick-and-mortar location where I will be able to sell new and used books, my own creations like those found in my Etsy shop currently as well as unique gifts from American artists.

Decorative Pink Book Page Birdhouse
My shop is a combination of new and vintage items, all focused on books for a sense of consistency throughout. My watercolor bookmarks, for example, are quite unique; although there are innumerable shops that sell bookmarks, mine are all guaranteed to be one-of-a-kind. First I paint recycled book pages with abstract watercolor designs and then I use the painted pages like scrapbook paper to decorate paper tags, along with glitter tape, buttons, ribbon and more. I like the romance of handmade pieces that are all unique!

Old Book Pages Blue Bird
The hanging wall plaques in my shop were a pleasant surprise – I didn’t expect them to turn out so well! They’re really quite simple to make but they make a big impact in any room and each one is unique since they’re made from a recycled book page. The pink “dream” piece in particular is my favorite.

Dream Pink Hanging Wall Decor
I don’t typically do custom orders simply because the majority of my pieces are one-of-a-kind based on what book page is used or how the watercolor painting turns out. However, if a customer is looking for a certain word to be printed on a wall plaque or a box, I’d be happy to accommodate!

My products are almost exclusively found on Etsy but I do have a small display in my mother’s shop, Middletown Florist & Gifts.

Watercolor Bookmark
Outside of Etsy, I work part-time as a manager at my mother’s flower and gift shop as well as attending college as an art history major. I also volunteer at a private school teaching art which I absolutely love!

Please follow me here:

Tenae has graciously offered a 15% off discount to readers of my blog. Use coupon code DLITE15 now - coupon expires September 21st! 

Sunday, July 14, 2013

Sunday Spotlight: 90 Degree Angle

Today's Sunday Spotlight is focused on the fun art of Caitlin Wilson of 90 Degree Angle. Get inspired by her art, then go shopping!

I aspire to be an inspired environmentalist in my work, I worry a lot about the planet and although not all of my products are completely up-cycled/recycled/have an environmental goal (although right now I'd say a majority do/are) I'm trying to gear myself into a direction that they all will be soon!

Hand Painted Jewelry Box
It is very important to me that I'm not just making more clutter that will someday reside in a land fill.

Summer Tea Cup Bird Feeder With Watermelon and Greenery

I also greatly believe in gifts with a function and always love solving a problem/ answering a challenge a  customer may have!

Hand Painted His and Hers Coffee Mugs
My store is actually fairly new, and right now still ironing out which products people love! I really enjoy making the products and searching for the resources to reuse and up-cycle for the products.

Right now there is just one of me making the items, although I am always happy to do custom orders and try to be as speedy and helpful as possible, I am proud of my environmental goals with in my shop and products and although not everything is quite an up-cycled item, I try to always use recycled materials for packing as well as include a little reduce reuse recycle message!

Personalize Your Family Tree

I'd say right now I'm really proud of my coffee/tea (glass)mug candles, I think they are really cute and original-I worked really hard coming up with them/and perfecting them--and I love that the customer can reuse the glasses for drinks after they finish their candles.

Apple Pie Scented Candle In Dessert Glass

I do any kind of custom order you can imagine whether custom from an item I already feature or something new-- including problems solving gifts--customer posses a problem and I make suggestions of gifts I could make until we are both happy with the out come--really in this process I just ask for patience and that the customer see it all the way through :)

I have many trades :) Right now I have a degree in Journalism and Photography, I do some nanny-ing for a very special little girl who inspires many of my gifts, and I am currently in grad school for a world conservation degree in zoology--which will hopefully greater inspire and help my ideas for my Etsy shop.

I'd be happy to do a free shipping offer on any jewelry purchases to readers who mention this article within 2 weeks of the posting--if they message me about it I'll alter their order so there is no shipping charge!

You can also find me here:

Are you interested in a review of your Etsy shop? Click here for my interview questions and guest writer guidelines!

Sunday, June 30, 2013

Sunday Spotlight - Trotting Jack Press

Today's Sunday Spotlight shines on M. Elliott of Trotting Jack Press.  Please take some to learn about this incredible artist!

 I'm an England based printmaker who designs and makes lino printed products for my Etsy shop "Trotting Jack Press". All the products you will find in my Etsy shop are fully hand printed and hand crafted by me one by one, so each product is very unique and special. I'm very happy and proud to be able to offer such 'one of a kind' items to my customers.

Mrs. Mouse

I find inspiration for my art from from many sources such as nature, animals, classic fairy tales, vintage items etc. The list is endless, but my biggest source of inspiration must be my little Jack Russell Terrier who's very sweet, funny and makes me smile all the time.

Hand Painted Terrier Dog pendant

I opened my Etsy shop on 5th Feb, 2012. (I chose this particular date because it's my mum's birthday and she is the biggest fan of my artwork.) Luckily, my shop has been growing very slowly, but constantly ever since.

Having a Nap

Although I am specialising in linocut,I also enjoy drawing, painting, sewing, collaging, making small 3d objects, jewellery making etc. I use these art and craft skills individually or  sometimes combine them together for making very unique and original items.

Handmade Wooden Brooches

My most favourite thing I've ever made is this "sleeping jack russell miniature doll".

Sleeping Jack Russell Miniature Doll

My terrier is the model and I think I managed to capture his sweetest moment quite well!

You can also find my products on Folksy (British craft market site).

Sitting Bear Cub printed doll

I do have a real interest in vintage and antiques so I like to look around markets, fairs and charity shops for digging some treasures. I can't resist buying small junks ( well, treasures for me! ) that catch my eye and as a result, my collection is expanding rapidly. Maybe, I should open my second shop "Trotting Jack Antiques" sometime soon!  (only joking :-) 


Are you interested in being featured in a Sunday Spotlight or in writing a guest feature? Check out and follow my blog guidelines here!

Sunday, June 23, 2013

Sunday Spotlight: Irina of Miracle from Threads

Today's Sunday Spotlight featured Irina of Miracle from Threads. Please take some time to learn more about this fiber artists and her amazing work!

Funny Frog rattle

My name is Irina, I am 29 years old. I have a son, Kirill. It was after the birth of a child I started doing nursing necklaces, rattles and teething toys. I want my child to surround quality toys made from natural materials. It's so important! I do nursing necklaces from cotton / linen yarn and unfinished wooden beads of different kinds of wood. When I make a necklace or a toy I put to a piece of my soul and love. And baby feels it better than anyone.

Elephant Blue Nursing Necklace

As my son grows, I understand that he needs to develop and began to appear more sophisticated toys. And together we come up with the game and we think who still need to play. Or what is safe to dress up the Christmas tree and the house.

Teething Ring

My son is the engine that drives the creation of something new and interesting. It's so wonderful that you can chew on a machine - the machine teething toy. Or the elephant in the mommy beads, which a child can pull the trunk or ears, or to tell mum that elephant has. Or safe flower-bracelet for a newborn baby.

Crochet Toy Car

I like my beads and toys different: strict and funny, with amusing suspension or having a lot of threads. After all, we are all different. I want that everyone could find yourself something especial!

Linen Crochet Necklace

I also realized that I can make cute gifts for my family and friends. So I started making jewelry for women and girls. Toy animals, I give men in the car as car charm. After all, they have a different color and cheer up! This is a unique gift for the person!  After all, every toy has its own character and is suitable for a particular person.

Sometimes I do things in order for specific mother or child. I ask tell what she wants, what color. I do sketch product and together we are discussing it. I will communicate with the buyer and I really like it. Obtained a completely unique personalized jewelry  or  toy. In which already a little is seen by the owner. In these cases, I put a cute gift in parcel, sometimes doing a discount. For example:

Also my products can be seen on facebook page or on LiveJournal.
As a special offer to my readers, Irina has offered a valid coupon for a 5% discount, good through the end of July - Coupon Code - FORYUO.

Friday, June 14, 2013

Featured Shop: Amelia Bedelia June 9th

Today's featured shop is Delia with Amelia Bedelia Vintage. Please take some time to learn about her approach to vintage shops - special offer at the end!

Amelia Bedelia Vintage opened in 2009 when I had discovered Etsy as a buyer and realized I could open up my own shop!  I have always been a collector, digger, treasure hunter, whatever you want to call it, and Etsy gave me an outlet to share that love with a whole community. 

Vintage Full Fitted Sheet
Here at Amelia Bedelia Vintage you'll find lots of bright mid century goodies and fun retro home decor pieces to brighten up your day. :) Running this shop allows me to dig for treasure and pass it on to you in the hopes that you'll find a piece that makes you smile! 

Faux Bois Vintage Flip Clock
 I am addicted to color, and my shop is filled with bright and happy pieces from the 1950’s through the 1980’s.  The colors from the mid century era just blow me away, and sometimes I wish I was born in the Mad Men age!  Each item you see is something I would be proud to have in my own home, and usually that’s where it stays until its new owner comes along.

Plaid Vintage Soup Mugs
Sometimes it’s hard for me to part with these things, but I need to pass it on to other vintage lovers or I’d be on Hoarders for sure!  This guy was one of my favorites….but he has a happy and loving home now.

 You can also find me at , where I just opened a new vintage clothing shop!  I found it too confusing to have clothing mixed in with home décor and wanted my shoppers to have a more streamlined browsing experience.  Here you’ll find MORE color and bright vintage wearable pieces from the 1950’s-80s. 

Vintage High Waisted Skirt with Matching Jacket
Although I do spend the majority of my time thrifting and estate saling, I do have a pseudo day job as a Marriage and Family Therapist Intern (MFTI).  What’s nice is that the flexible hours of being a therapist allow me plenty of time to maintain my love of vintage goodies!  And when I’m not doing any of the above, you’ll find me tucked into a cozy corner with some Harry Potter and a freshly brewed French press, dreaming my day away….

Bright 1960s Book Collection
Come and Pin with me!  Find me at

Any readers of this lovely blog can use special coupon code DLITES20 at either Amelia Bedelia Vintage OR The Happy Forest for 20% off their purchase!  **Expires Sunday, June 30th!

Sunday, May 26, 2013

Sunday Spotlight - Pinar Design

Today's Sunday Spotlight features the gorgeous and creative work of Pinar Kamaci from Turkey. As a fellow crocheter, I am amazed at the detail of her designs. Please take the time to get to know this unique artist, and look for her special offer at the end of the post!

Hi, my name is N. Pinar Kamaci. I design and make Bohemian Chic Crochet Lace Art Jewelry.  Also I make screen-print cotton scarves with ancient art motif. All of my creations are inspired by ancient history and art of Turkey. There is a historical tale behind my each and every design.

I am a graphic designer. I born and grow up in Istanbul, Turkey where is a beautiful and historical city. I have two university degree; Marmara University of Printing Technology and Marmara University Faculty of Fine Arts Department of Graphic Design. Also my parents are graduated from same university, Marmara University Faculty of Fine Arts. My father is graphic designer and my mother is ceramic artist and sculpture. I have one younger sister. And I love her tooo much, she is my best friend and also big fan of Pinara Design.

Crochet Pendant Necklace

In 2006, I married my husband, Ertan, the love of my life whom I met while working at the same firm. He is also my best friend and source of inspiration of my art works. He is my logic man, my second eye and the other half of my soul. He is a photographer. We have no children, but we have an adorable ginger boy cat. His name is Bucuk. He is 5 years old. And we adore him. He is fun and happiness our life. (And he is a great helper for distract the attention and kidnap my equipment LOL)

I had my own printing and graphic agency for 4 years. Then I worked for a graphic agency as an art director. And finally I worked for an international hr & consultant firm as an art director and manager.

Crochet Collar Bib Necklace

15 years ago I began to make my own jewelry. Because I love wear jewelry. For years I have researched about Anatolian history, ancient art, Turkish lace, vintage crochets, semiprecious stones, authentic fabrics... People around me began to encourage me to share my designs with the world. After my husband and I left our jobs and lives in fast paced Istanbul we decided moved to the seaside city of Antalya in southern Turkey and opened our Etsy shop. This is when my colorful journey begins.

We love Antalya because it's a beautiful city nearby Mediterranean Sea where history and nature come together seamlessly.

Crochet Bohemian Chic Earrings

 My husband and my parents inspire me a lot. When I finish a new design, I immediately share with Ertan. And we brainstorm about. He is my second eyes; show me the different ways to look.
And my parents… when we get together always talk about history and art. They expand my brain; give me the new clues for research. Art is always in my life. I grew with art and at the end I become an artist. My parents always create wonderful things… not only drawings or sculpture… When I was child my mother always made for us puppets, interesting toys and fancy cloths. Thought me how to sew ,thanks to my mummy. When I was 13 years old they made a fiber glass sailing boat and they thought me how to sail… Then they bought a big lemon garden which has an old stone village house in it. They restorated whole garden and house. They made wooden and stone works by their selves. And they are still creating… and give me inspiration always J

And finally history is my basic inspiration. I feel really lucky for to be living at this huge historical country. Turkey is a huge historical country. There are so many different ancient civilizations in our land. Lycia, Hittite, Ottoman Empire, Ion, Urartus, Byzantine, Selcuk… Many many different styles of art and ancient civilizations. This keep me search more with excitement. Find new treasuries from past is a great journey. As a graphic designer searching ancient art and designs give new perspective for create.  I love creative process and researching; matching colors and combine them with different motifs. I feel that I am still growing and learning more with each of my designs.

Crochet Bohemian Chic Earrings

Our intention is revive some forgotten designs of the past by using eco-friendly materials on jewelry and scarves. Diversity of Anatolian history and artistic creations are giving me the opportunity for using different techniques and materials. There is a historical tale behind each and every design such as techniques like crochet, screen print, wire wrap, transfer print.

What's the meaning of Pinara?
Often people ask me that there is any relationship between my name Pınar and Pinara. In fact, these two words look like similar but they are totally different words. Pınar means 'fountain' in Turkish language. Pinara means 'round' in the ancıent Lycia language and it's the name of a beautiful Lycia site in the Mediterranean region of Turkey. It was settled around 5th century BC in the Xanthus valley and one of the important cities of the Lycia Federation. Its name references apparently to the rounded shape of the precipitous hill on which the city originally stood.

Most proud of product is Crochet Bohemian Chic Tulip Pendant Necklace in Red, Green with Emerald, Coral and earrings set.  Short time ago one of my customer wanted as a set with earrings this beautiful necklace.

Crochet Lace Necklace with Tulip

 The crochet motifs that I made for this lovely set is inspired from Hatayi tile motifs of Rustem Pasa Mosque at Istanbul.

This hatayi motif is penç style. Motifs known as penç are derived from natural plants forms. They are stylized drawings of the bird’s-eye view of a flower. Hatayi is one of the main motifs of Tezhip (Illumination). Hatayi is a stylized pattern known as “Chinese Turkestan” origin, vertical and horizontal cross-section view of the flowers. Hatayi motifs have been applied on utensils and architectural tiles ceramics at the middle of the 16 century at Iznik. The most brilliant period of Ottoman Tile art was between 15. - 18. Centuries at Iznik. The most important feature of Iznik tiles are under-glaze decoration technique and coral red color.

The Rustem Pasha Mosque was designed by Ottoman imperial architect Mimar Sinan for Grand Vizier Damat Rustem Pasha. He was husband of one of the daughters of Suleiman the Magnificent, Princess Mihrimah. The Rustem Pasha Mosque is famous for its large quantities of exquisite Iznik tiles.

Follow Pinar here:

As a special offer to my readers, use coupon code BRTHDY001 for an amazing 25% off!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...